Skip to main content

LSSI Key Contacts & Governance Groups

LSSI Steering Group

The aims of the LSSI Steering Group are to oversee the work of the Institute, review and agree priorities for activities which will:

  • Foster a creative and intellectually stimulating environment for social scientists in Leeds to help them innovate, collaborate, and develop visionary research.
  • To respond to new opportunities for funding for research or innovation and to stimulate responses to those opportunities and where appropriate, coordinate the preparation of large-scale cross-institutional bids with RIS.
  • Provide co-ordinated training for social scientists at all career stages.
  • Maximise internal and external collaboration and strategic alliances within and beyond the social sciences and will act as the first point of contact for N8 initiatives.
  • Communicate and showcase (both internally and externally) the social sciences at Leeds including our distinctive strengths, expertise, activity, new opportunities, supporting new staff, hosting major international events etc.

Gabriella Alberti

Associate Professor in Work and Employment Relations, Centre for Employment Relations, Innovation and Change

Dr Sahla Aroussi

LSSI Deputy Director

Karen Arzate Quintanilla

PGR Representative

Dr Roxana Barbulescu

University Academic Fellow, School of Sociology and Social Policy

Professor Andrew Brown

Professor of Economics and Political Economy, Leeds University Business School

Olaf Corry

Prof of Global Security Challenges

Cheryl Harris

LSSI Manager

Professor Jen Hendry

LSSI Executive Group Member & Lead Academic for the WRDTP

Dr Jenny Hodbod

Lecturer of Environment and Development

Professor Sarah Irwin

Professor of Sociology, School of Sociology and Social Policy

Natalie Jackson

LSSI Communications and Graduate Co-ordinator WRDTP

Juliet Jopson

Policy Officer, Policy Leeds

Professor Stuart Lister

Professor of Policing and Criminal Justice, School of Law

Alison Lundbeck

LSSI Research and Innovation Development Manager

Professor Julia Martin-Ortega

Professor, School of Earth and Environment

Dr Ghazala Mir

Associate Professor, School of Medicine

Professor Kate Pangbourne

LSSI Deputy Director

Elliot Payne

Support Officer – LSSI and Environment.

Helen Pickard

Research Development Manager

Professor Carlo Prato

Professor of Transportation Engineering

Jennifer Rivas-Perez

Researcher Skills Senior Researcher Training and Development Officer, Organisational Development and Professional Learning

Sophie Rowan

Festival of Social Sciences Co-ordinator

Professor Gehan Selim

LSSI Deputy Director

Professor Fiona Smith

Professor in International Economic Law, School of Law

Professor Karen Spilsbury

Professor (Invest Chair in Nursing Res), School of Healthcare

Professor James Stark

Professor of Medical Humanities and Director of the Leeds Arts and Humanities Research Institute

Mark Stuart

Montague Burton Professor of Human Resource Management and Employment Relations; Pro Dean for Research and Innovation, Leeds University Business School

Professor Matthew Treherne

Professor of Italian Literature

Dr James Van Alstine

Associate Professor of Environmental Policy, School of Earth and Environment

Professor Louise Waite

LSSI Director

Professor David S. Wall

Chair in Criminology, School of Law

Professor Amanda Waterman

Professor of Cognitive Development

Sherif Youssef

Partnerships and Engagement Officer

Erna Zharani

PGR Representative