Leeds Social Sciences Institute

People

In this section:

Key Contacts

Adam-CrawfordProfessor Adam Crawford

LSSI Director and Professor of Criminology and Criminal Justice (ESSL)
a.crawford@leeds.ac.uk

Adam’s research interests include public policing, private security, crime prevention, community safety, partnerships, youth justice, anti-social behaviour, victims of crime, restorative justice, urban governance and the regulation of public space.

He has successfully secured over £10 million in external research funding, mostly as principal investigator.

Paul-RoutledgeProfessor Paul Routledge

LSSI Deputy Directory and Professor in Social and Urban Change (Environment)
P.Routledge@leeds.ac.uk

Paul’s research interests include critical geopolitics, climate change, social justice, civil society, the environment, and social movements. He has long-standing research interests concerning development, environment and the practices of social movements in the Global South and Global North. His work involves politically engaged and committed research that is practice-based and conducted in horizontal collaboration with social movements.

Professor Jennifer TomlinsonJennifer-Tomlinson

LSSI Deputy Director and Professor of Gender and Employment Relations (LUBS)
jt@lubs.leeds.ac.uk 

Jennifer’s work and publications focus on gender and inequalities in work, management and occupations; occupational gender segregation and part-time work; and gender relations, employment systems and welfare regimes.

She is currently an editor of Work, Employment and Society and an Associate editor of Gender, Work and Organization.

Josine Opmeer JosineOpmeerPIC

LSSI Research and Innovation Development Manager
j.a.opmeer@leeds.ac.uk

Josine supports the identification and development of new interdisciplinary research opportunities, and manages large, strategic funding applications across the social sciences. Working with academics and researchers across the University, she develops opportunities for cross-faculty/school collaborations and interdisciplinary research. She also helps to identify and build relationships with external partners and stakeholders.

Sophia-KennedyMs Sophia Kennedy

LSSI Coordinator
s.kennedy@leeds.ac.uk

Susan-DarlingtonMs Susan Darlington

LSSI Support Assistant
s.darlington@leeds.ac.uk

 

 

Academic Staff

Dr Andrew Brown

Senior Lecturer in Economics (LUBS)
andrew@lubs.leeds.ac.uk

Andrew is interested in socio-economic research methodology and political economy or economic sociologyA member of the Centre for Employment Relations Innovation and Change, he has particular expertise in the area of financialisation.

Dr Ghazala Mir

Principal Research Fellow (LIHS)
G.Mir@leeds.ac.uk

Ghazala has research interests in health and social inequalities that cover minority ethnic and faith communities, women and people with learning disability. She is a leading member of the Inequalities Research Network.

Professor Philip Mellor

Professor of Religion and Social Theory (Arts)
p.a.mellor@leeds.ac.uk

The Pro Dean for Research (Arts), Philip’s research interests are religion in social and cultural theory; embodiment, Christian theology and sociology; Durkheimian studies; and problems of theory and method in the study of religion.

Dr Jennifer Rivas Perez

Researcher Training and Development Hub Lead (LEAP)
J.A.RivasPerez@leeds.ac.uk

Dr Karen Lucas

Associate Professor in Transport Geography (ITS)
K.Lucas@leeds.ac.uk

Karen is Director of Research and Innovation at the Institute of Transport Studies. She has had 20 years of experience in social research in transport and is a world-leading expert in the area of transport-related social exclusion.

Professor Anthea Hucklesby

Pro-Dean for Research and Innovation (ESSL)
a.l.hucklesby@leeds.ac.uk

Anthea’s research interests lie broadly in criminal justice and how it deals with suspects, defendants and offenders. She has been awarded in excess of £1.3 million in research grants.

Dr Giorgia Aiello

Lecturer, International Communication (PVAC)
g.aiello@leeds.ac.uk

Giorgia’s research focuses on the relationship between visual culture and globalization, with an emphasis on how identities are formed and social and cultural differences are negotiated across cultures and through visual means.

Dr Gill Main

University Academic Fellow Young People and Precarity (Education)
g.main@leeds.ac.uk

Gill’s primary interests are in children and young people’s well-being, poverty and social exclusion. She is co-ordinator of the Leeds Centre for Interdisciplinary Childhood and Youth Research.

Professor Gary Dymski

Divisional Director of Research (LUBS)
g.dymski@leeds.ac.uk

A Professor of Applied Economics, Gary’s research interests including macroeconomics, Keynesian theory; banking strategy and mergers; urban economics; and racial and gender discrimination in credit and housing markets.

Professor Justin Keen

Professor of Health Politics (LIHS)
J.Keen@leeds.ac.uk

The Pro Dean for Research (Medicine), Justin’s main research interests are in the governance of patient journeys, and in the role of information technologies in health care.

Professor Christopher Dent

Professor of East Asia’s International Political Economy (Arts)
c.m.dent@leeds.ac.uk

Christopher is an international political economist who specialises in East Asia, with a particular interest in its regional economic affairs and the region’s position in the world system.

Dr Lucie Middlemiss

Lecturer in Sustainability (SRI)
L.K.Middlemiss@leeds.ac.uk

The topics that Lucie is interested in include sustainable consumption, sustainable communities, environmental justice and energy vulnerability.

Professor Tracy Shildrick

Professor of Sociology and Social Policy (SSP)
T.Shildrick@leeds.ac.uk

Tracy’s research interests span youth transitions, worklessness, poverty and social exclusion. She recently conducted a study for the Joseph Rowntree Foundation looking at the ‘low pay, no pay cycle’.

Professor Sarah Irwin

Professor of Sociology (SSP)
s.irwin@leeds.ac.uk

Sarah’s research interests relate to family, parenting, education, youth transitions and socio-economic inequalities. She is director of the Centre for Research on Families, the Life Course and Generations.

Professor Karen Spilsbury

Chair in Nursing Research (Healthcare)
k.spilsbury@leeds.ac.uk

Karen is particularly interested in evaluating how changes in the composition, organisation and management of the healthcare workforce impact on quality of care and outcomes.

Stuart Lister

Senior Lecturer in Criminal Justice (Law)
S.C.Lister@leeds.ac.uk

Stuart is WR-DTC lead for Leeds. He is interested in changes and continuities in the provision, role, function and effectiveness of contemporary policing and security endeavours.

Professor Joseph Holden

Pro-Dean for Research (Environment)
j.holden@leeds.ac.uk

Joseph seeks to understand the processes associated with the hydrology and carbon dynamics of peatlands under environmental change. He currently has £9 million of active grants on which he is a named investigator.

Helen Pickard

LEAP Researcher Training Hub
H.R.R.Pickard@leeds.ac.uk

Philip Waywell

Impact Acceleration Account panel member
p.d.waywell@leeds.ac.uk

Philip is the Research and Innovation Development Manager at the Leeds Institute for Data Analytics.

Tom Knowland

Impact Acceleration Account panel member
T.W.J.Knowland@leeds.ac.uk

Tom is Head of Sustainable Development at Leeds City Council. He was seconded to the Sustainability Research Institute to develop and share knowledge and best practice in developing a low carbon economy and supporting low carbon / high quality lifestyles

© Copyright Leeds 2017